Enterprise Zones

21st November 2011


The government has announced 11 new Enterprise Zones as part of the government’s ‘Plan for Growth’.

The government had previously announced 11 Enterprise Zones in some of the country’s largest cities, including Manchester, Birmingham, Merseyside and Newcastle and had invited applications for 10 more in other areas.

According to the press release ‘the strength of the applications from Local Enterprise Partnerships was such that Government has agreed to increase this invitation to 11.’

The second wave of Enterprise Zones will be located in:

• Humber Estuary Renewable Energy Super Cluster

• Daresbury Science Campus in Warrington

• Newquay AeroHub in Cornwall

• The Solent Enterprise Zone at Daedalus Airfield in Gosport

• MIRA Technology Park in Hinckley Leicestershire

• Rotherwas Enterprise Zone in Hereford

• Discovery Park in Sandwich, Kent and Enterprise West Essex in Harlow

• Science Vale UK in Oxfordshire

• Northampton Waterside

• Alconbury Airfield, near Huntingdon in Cambridgeshire, and

• Great Yarmouth in Norfolk, and Lowestoft in Suffolk.

The Chancellor of the Exchequer George Osborne, said:

‘It is vital that we create balanced economic growth across the country. It is time for us to help every part of the country to grow and realise its potential.’

‘Enterprise Zones are a critical part of our Plan for Growth and will support economic development and create over 30,000 new jobs by 2015. The zones will benefit from over £150 million in tax breaks over 4 years, new superfast broadband, lower levels of planning control and the potential to use enhanced capital allowances.’

Internet link: Press release

Posted – 21/11/2011